San Diego State University logo

Department of Physics

Professor Calvin W. Johnson

Web pages

 


PHYSICS 580          COMPUTATIONAL PHYSICS   FALL 2017


CLASS ASSIGNMENTS
 
 
Project 1: Numerical derivatives. Due Saturday, Sept 9, 2017 at 11:59pm.
(You will get feedback and get a chance to resubmit; however you must submit your best possible work.)

Project 2: Quadrature: neutron flux from a reactor. Due Wednesday, Sept 27, 2017 at 11:59pm.  (You will get feedback and get a chance to resubmit; however you must submit your best possible work.)

Project 3: Linear least-squares fit: nuclear binding energies. Due Friday, Oct 27, at 11:59 pm. (You will get feedback and get a chance to resubmit; however you must submit your best possible work.) The file of nuclear data is here.
 
Project 4: Solutions to the Schrodinger equation.   Due Wednesday, Nov 15, at 11:59 pm. You may turn in a working early submission on Friday, Nov 10, 2017, for comments.

Project 5: Orbital mechanics of planets and moons. Due: 11:59 pm, Monday, Dec 4, 2017.   "Early submission" option: 11:59 pm, Tues, Nov 28, 2017

Project 6: Evolution of a quantum wave packet.  Due: 11:59 pm, Monday, Dec 18, 2017. "Early submission" option: 11:59 pm, Monday, Dec 11, 2017.

GROUP PARALLEL PROJECT. Final presentations and reports at the day and time of the final, 1 pm, Friday, Dec 15, 2017.